Cross Stitch and Liebster Award

Hello Friends!! I am so sorry for my disappearance. It was not planned. How are you all doing? I am doing good. Last week was Thanksgiving so I had some time off. I finished up putting some packages together and did some reading and spending time with my husband.

A couple of weeks ago when I was at the bookstore they had the new Cross Stitcher magazine. It is a British one and is a bit pricey but I really like it and the patterns, so every now and then I treat myself to the latest issue.

IMG_1859

This issue came with a cute extra:

IMG_1860

It comes with enough fabric to make two heart ornaments and so I decided to make one for my grandma’s Christmas package. Like me, she likes owls so I chose that design. The fabric it comes with to cross stitch is very stiff, I have never worked with something like that before. You didn’t need to use a hoop to hold your fabric like you need with most aida or linen fabrics but when it came to sewing the back and the front together and then turning it right side out, it was pretty difficult but I managed to with a lot of tugging and poking and pushing and pulling. 🙂

IMG_1894

Here it is all finished! Not the best picture but I took it the night I was packing up the package. I am pretty happy with how it turned out. The cross stitching looks good I just wish the heart looked a little better. I have started the second heart so depending how much I work on it maybe by the weekend I will have something to show. I need to start working on my Christmas cards and some other holiday stuff, time is flying by!

I did manage to get my son’s Advent calendar done in time though, I have something for everyday which is quite an achievement because I usually have the first couple weeks filled and then I am trying to get things to fill it with as the month goes on.

IMG_1901

I use a curtain rod to hang it in his window. I made it four or five years ago. It is still one of the things I am most proud of. You can’t see them very well, I was trying to get a shot of all 24. Each stocking is lined with red fabric and has a red ribbon to hang by. Then I used some red glittery felt and cut out star shapes and embroidered the numbers on them in a shiny silver embroidery thread, which was a pain to work with.  But I got there in the end and he looks forward to it every year.

Last but not least my friend Joanna picked me for the Liebster Award. Thank you!

liebster-award

My questions:
1. Are you social? (FB, Instagram, Twitter, ect?)

I am on Facebook and Instagram but I mainly go on there to see what other people are up to and sharing, I don’t post very much.

2. What colours are your favourite (on clothes and around you)?

Oh, I love the morning pink and purple you might catch in the morning when the sun is rising.Purple is also one of my favorite colors for everything.  Burgundy is not really a favorite color of mine but I know that it looks good on me. I like gray for sweaters or shirts. I really like bright colors but not all of them suit me so I try to have them around me in my bed sheets or pillows or when I make bags or something myself. and I can get away with wearing bright colors in my socks because I think socks can be fun and don’t always have to match what you are wearing.  A lot of the pictures I have hanging have bright colors.

3. Do you sleep in socks or never ever?

I am one of those people who as soon as colder weather hits I am always wearing socks!! But in the summer I do not sleep in socks.
4. What would you like to learn in the future?

I would really like to learn French. And I would like to learn to quilt, I have a basic understanding of course but to do it properly. Really, sewing better would be a plus, I do a lot of straight sewing and easy projects but to make myself a shirt, skirt or even a dress would be nice.

5. Coffee or tea? Tea but on the weekends I do enjoy a nice cup of coffee.
6. Do you have a pet? What is it? Maybe you would like to have one?

Its been almost two years since we have been without a pet. We used to have cats. I would like to have a cat again and we have talked about it but I think maybe we have waited to long and now I have gotten used to not having to deal with a litter box and the cat hair everywhere. But then when I go to friends that have cats I can’t get enough of them. It’s a big decision and I want it to be the right one and the right time.
7. If you could choose any epoch and place to live, when and where would it be?

This is a tough one but I think In the renaissance period in Europe… specifically probably France. I think I need to travel with Doctor Who so I can just have a taste of it all, there are so many things that I think would be awesome to experience.
8. When did you start writing your blog? Do you plan to ever stop writing?

Well this is my third reincarnation of having a blog, so I have been doing this on and off for several years. I would like to think that I am not going to stop writing because I do enjoy it but I have never been a great writer and it has been kind of easy for me in the past to stop writing. I am also still hesitant sometimes about what i put out there and sometimes I think something is kind of sill to write about. So i still struggle a lot.
9. What is the most handy tool you are lost without?

Can a handkerchief be considered a tool? makes a great napkin, tissue and towel 🙂 My key chain nail clippers would probably be one.
10. What are your three favourite dishes from three different world cuisines?

Puerto Rican Mofungo, filled with chicken and no broth on the outside i don’t like when things get soggy and mushy.

German Wiener Schnitzel with Potato Salad.

Pad Thai, I realize that the Pad Thai that I get around here might not be like the real Pad Thai but it is my fave Thai dish.

And Middle Eastern Tabbouleh salad and Falafel. Yum, thinking about all this food makes me want it all!
11. Glass half way full or half way empty? Way Full!!

I am going to nominate

NothingButKnit

Jules World

Nadia’s Healthy Kitchen

My Questions:

1: What is a new recipe you have tried recently that was a success?

2:Your favorite thing to do before going to bed?

3: Do you like to watch foreign films?

4:Sweet or Salty Snack?

5:Your Dream Vacation?

6:Do you like to read and if so do you have a favorite genre?

7:Do you listen to or watch any podcasts? If yes, do you have a favorite.

8:What is your favorite time of day?

9:What inspires you?

10: Favorite music?

11: Do you sing in the shower?

Have a great day!

2 thoughts on “Cross Stitch and Liebster Award

  1. Thank You for the Award!

    I answered your questions, which aren’t always easy.

    I’m still thinking about the last recipe I tried… 😉

    I tried a new one but I don’t know if it is a success, because it is a liquor recipe and its still in progress for the next 13 days.

  2. Thank you very much for answering the questions! I could read it just now since I’ve been having a terrible flu since Friday…
    I’ve been thinking about going back to cross stitching myself, I just need to find a nice project to start with. And the Advent calendar you made is great! It’s reusable and pretty, great job! *^o^*
    I also love Wiener schnitzel and pad thai. I haven’t heard about mofongo though, a brand new cuisine for me!

Leave a Reply

