The Marsh

Hi Friends! How are you? I am snuggled up on the couch with Little Man away from the cold that is hovering outside my front door. We got some snow today. Yuck, but I am thankful it was only a little bit. Some people have been hit really hard.

IMG_1854

It is pretty, I just don’t like driving in it and because it was so cold the roads were quite slick.

So on Friday I told you we were hoping to go to the Marsh over the weekend and we did! We layered and bundled ourselves up and went over to the marsh for a wonderful walk. I could have stayed there all day but the men aren’t quite as keen as i am to be doing all that walking in the cold but I took some pictures to share our walk with you.

IMG_1799

This is when we first got there. Then we started walking on our favorite trail but Little Man wanted to do it in reverse this time.

IMG_1800 IMG_1801 IMG_1803 IMG_1807

IMG_1808

You can see that the water was completely frozen in places and then there was a section where the water started flowing over the ice.

IMG_1811

This is a part of the marsh that is normally filled with water but you can see there isn’t much in there right now. I love seeing the changes from season to season.

IMG_1812

My men playing with their sticks 🙂

IMG_1814

Love that pop of red within all that brown. It isn’t as bright in the picture as it was there.

IMG_1816

IMG_1818

Me all bundled up in my handknits!! That the Gap-tastic cowl and the Wurm hat. I had warmed up a bit by then since we were further into our walk but before that I had my cowl wrapped around a third time and all you could see were my glasses.

IMG_1820

IMG_1823 IMG_1824 IMG_1825 IMG_1826 IMG_1827

Along the way we found that the beavers in the area had been busy!! They had chewed five trees and started a sixth one but didn’t it. then you could see the drag marks of the trees going down to the water. Little Man thought it was so neat and we both too some of the shavings that they left behind.

IMG_1829

It was hard to get a picture of but here is where they have built their dam a little ways down from where the trees were taken.

IMG_1833 IMG_1835 IMG_1834 IMG_1836 IMG_1837

Bubbles under the ice that Little and Big Man had to “free” with their sticks.

IMG_1838 IMG_1840

Mushrooms growing on trees.

IMG_1841 IMG_1842 IMG_1843 IMG_1844 IMG_1845

That was our walk, enjoyed very much by all.

By the road that leads to the marsh there is a sign for a farmers bakery in the area. it has been there forever but we never checked it out so today we thought we would be adventurous and see what it is all about. It turned out to be super cute little place that had some delightful looking pastries, donuts, pies and even fresh-baked bread. We got a loaf of rye bread and some sweet treats. Then I came home, made some coffee and enjoyed my treat with a book.

IMG_1847

I borrowed the book from a friend, it’s Wild Tales by Graham Nash. It is his autobiography and when I read the back of it, it sounded really interesting. I am about four chapters in and while still interesting for me it has slowed down a bit so when I was at the library on Monday it was very easy for me to be tempted by a different book.

IMG_1849

This is the third book in the Century Trilogy that started with the Fall of Giants by Ken Follett. This is the Edge of Eternity. It just came out last month I think so when I saw the library had it in I had to check it out. I really enjoyed the first two books, they are very hefty, both close to if not over 1000 pages long but they really pull you into the lives of the different families that you are following starting in the early 1900’s. Book three is starting in 1961 and with the American families it is about segregation and Communism in Cuba. The German families are dealing with the split between East and West Germany and where I am at the Russians have just put up the fence that divides Berlin. The Russians are dealing with JFK and playing nice or maybe not so nice and they have their own kind of revolution going on. We have only seen a little bit of the English family but they all have their struggles whether it is personal, professional or with the country they live in. I can’t wait to read more later tonight.

Hope you are all well. Tomorrow I am hoping to show you a couple upcoming crafts that I am planning on starting, not knitting but I must do something!! Have a great day!

One thought on “The Marsh

  1. What a wonderful walk in the woods you had! The weather was nice and waited with the snow. *^o^*
    You look great, like some movies star hiding behind the glasses for no-photos… *^v^* I also have Wurm hat and wear it a lot, I will repeat this project one day in different colour.

Leave a Reply

