About Time!

Last Summer I joined a mystery Kal for a round shawl.   I even started a bit late but was able to catch up and be on the fourth clue when everyone else was.

The fourth clue ruined everything.

I should explain that each clue had four “clues” within it so you were kinda designing the shawl yourself as you went along. Not every-ones shawl would be the same depending on whether you picked chart A,B,C or D within each clue.  Well within Clue 4 I think B and D were 98 rows and A and C were only 50 rows. Well of course I liked D and I was worried if I did one of the shorter ones my shawl wouldn’t be big enough.

So that was 98 rows times 576 stitches per row.  I got tired of the shawl pretty quick and right around the same time last Fall my grandma was visiting so i couldn’t work on. I need 100% focus!  I picked right back up after she left but those rows were taking me painfully long and i kinda gave up on it. I had lost my will and I wasn’t having fun anymore.  Christmas was coming and then all my eye troubles came and come the new year I still wanted nothing to do with the shawl.

Then spring came and I went back to it. A row here and a row there, still not much progress. Summer came and I made finishing the shawl my one goal for the summer. There were a few hiccups, like running out of yarn!!  But…

I DID IT!  She is done and I couldn’t be happier.

Pattern: Mandala by Renee Leverington

Dates: June 24, 2008-Aug. 23, 2009

Yarn: Knit Picks Shadow in Spring Green.  Just a teeny bit over 3 balls!!

Needles: Size 4 circulars-the pattern called for size 5

Notes:  Wonderful Pattern.  I love that you are part of the design process by picking which chart you will do within each clue.

I did:  Clue 1-Chart A, Clue 2-Chart A, Clue 3-Chart A and Clue 4 Chart D.  There is only one edging to chose from for the fifth clue.

I did run out of yarn when I was doing the edging, so close to the end.  Very frustrating but I kinda saw it coming when I saw my yarn dwindling down to nothing. The yarn came quickly and you can’t even tell it’s not the same dye lot.

I am so happy that it is done.  I am still not sure what I will do with it.  I was thinking about putting it on my table.

Or letting hubby wear it 🙂

Or letting it keep me cozy.

We’ll see.

5 thoughts on “About Time!

  1. Your shawl is amazing! I’m so impressed and I love the colour you chose. Of course you should wear it, it’s so elegant and looks very cozy. I totally understand why you had some breaks on the way, my mystery shawl is still waiting to be finished, phew… ^^
    Your husband would make a great Baba Jaga, all he needs is a black cat and a broom! *^v^*

  2. Oh my gosh it is BEAUTIFUL!! (esp. love that last pic of you in it) and even funnier with hubby in it! LOL

    But you did a wonderful job sticking with it and having patience!

    AND I am so glad you knitted something for YOURSELF!! 🙂

    Hope all is blessed with you and the family on that side!

  3. Wow, you actually make this kind of stuff!? I can’t knit/do any kind of craftery; but your blog posts are so cool and cute. This is really cool looking, if I was you I’d make a living out of it. Very talented, and so pretty!!! (don’t wanna double post, but I like that blanketish thing you found at salvation army. Also your blog header with the doll is so cool!

Leave a Reply

