The Art Institute of Chicago

On our last day in Chicago i wanted to go to the Art Institute.  I love art-probably because i am terrible at drawing or painting so i like to look longingly at what all the Masters have done.

These are my men outside the Institute while we waited for it to open. It was much bigger than i thought it was going to be.  There was so much to look at.  I wish i could have taken pictures of everything but here some highlights.

The rich colors and the details that go into these pictures are amazing.  Some of them look so real, like you could reach out and touch them and really be touching a flower or a person.  I could walk through to look at the art everyday.

These next two are called “The Music Lesson”.  It’s fun to pick out the differences and makes me think of when I took an Art History class. We would look at two sculptures or pieces or art with the same name and write about them.

The Highlight though was something else. 

When i was in elementry school i read a book called Linnea in Monet’s Garden and we did a project in art class where you melted crayons and then made dots on a piece of cardboard to make an Impressionist painting. Since then Monet has been one of my favorite artists.  So when i walked into 2 rooms with his paintings i was in awe.

They had a lot more paintings but a few didn’t photograph well and i didn’t want to overwhelm you all with the pictures i took.  Gotta leave some surprises if any of you ever get to go one day.

The last day was great weather so we took one more walk through the park and playground for Little Man.

All in all a really nice trip with the family. I think there is something for everyone to do and in 10years when they want my DNA for my passport i will be happy to go back.  Haha 🙂

5 thoughts on “The Art Institute of Chicago

    • i think i was the only one that did i didn’t see anyone taking pics. lol But they had “watchers” in almost every room and no one ever said anything to me. haha okay okay 9 years 😉 just playing i think it will be sooner than that they had a lego discovery land in Schaumberg area and i think maybe in a couple years we will go back with A and Chicago isnt far from there.

  1. It looks like you had a great time in Chicago. My favorite artists are the impressionists. I could look at their paintings for hours.

    I have to comment on the squirrel. We have mainly grey here but across town there are some jet black ones. They are beautiful. I have never seen a tan squirrel. I didn’t know they came in that color.

Leave a Reply

