Turtle and the Zoo

Wow! Thanx for all the kind words on my Jam making escapade 🙂 if i could i would pass you all a sample through the computer 🙂

Little Man and I have talked about turtles a few times and he mentioned how he liked them and he needed one.  That of course lead me to think about making him a turtle. I have a pattern for one in a sewing book and i remembered Sheldon from Knitty.com.

I’m more of a knitter…

So here is Pitchy the Turtle! I am not sure how long that name will stick but that’s tha name i was given when i asked him.

Pattern: Sheldon from Knitty.com

Made for:  Little Man-he loved the surprise

Dates: June 26-29, 2008

Needles: size 4 Dps and a 3.50 mm and 3.25 mm crochet hook

Yarn: leftover scraps of Caron Simply Soft

Notes: Overall i stuck to the pattern. i didnt do the I-cord edging because it was too tricky for me and the small bit i did manage to do i didn’t care for how it was turning out, it could have been because maybe i was doing something wrong. I ended up crocheting around the edge and i am really happy with how that turned out-i think i prefer it over the i-cord anyway.
I stuffed him pretty good so he doesnt go in his shell that well unless we really push him in but then you have to reshape his head a bit when you take him back out but this doesn’t really phase Little Man

Today we did our annual trip to the zoo.  This year we went to the Toledo Zoo.  It was a lot of fun 🙂 I love going to the zoo and seeing the different animals and the Toledo Zoo has a really nice garden area to walk through.  Little Man added 2 more stuffed Rhinos to the family so now we have his original Best Friend Rhino, a baby rhino and a Big Papa rhino which was his original goal when he knew were going to the zoo.

He got to see some real Rhino’s as well-this was his favorite. He liked the curved horn.

We pet and brushed Goats:

I thought this was such a beautiful bird:

We got a kick out of the benches with bird feet in the Aviary:

And after the giraffes, elephants, birds, fish, penguins, monkeys, lions, tigers, bears and more we headed back home and just like all the past years Little Man did this:

It was a good day 🙂

 

5 thoughts on “Turtle and the Zoo

  1. As I can see, Little Man wasn’t the only one to get tired, the Rhino also needed a good rest. *^v^*
    What a cute little turtle you made, great job! I think it’s good to make toys for kinds (even make toys with kids), it helps to develop creativity in them.
    I haven’t been to the zoo for ages, maybe this Summer is the time! *^v^*

  2. AAh too cute!! At least you don’t have to worry about taking care of a “real” turtle! Haha!

    Looks like a WONDERFUL day at the zoo! Surprise he didn’t take Sheldon with him! :o)

  3. What a fun day! I love (!) the zoo. My family always manages to lose me around the monkeys. And your Sheldon is adorable! I had this queued forever but was too chicken to try it! Aren’t there like 9 pages of instructions?! Great job! 😉

Leave a Reply

